Update

Wow it’s been a while since my last post, so firstly I will apologize for that though I would rather not bore you with regular small posts about day to day life just for the sake of it.

Train Ticket to the airport

So, it is now the final week of my time here, for anybody interested I will be touching back down in the UK on the 27th, and I have to say it’s a bit weird getting ready to go home. Even though I have moved in and out of places countless numbers of times and have only been here for 3 months moving is always a rather hectic experience, moving out even more so as anything forgotten or left behind is gone for good, especially when you’re moving between countries, also despite only being here for a short period I think I have only just realized how much I have actually settled into living here.

A few things to note:-

1. I was told recently that I write in a very “German” style, i.e. I have the ability to fill a page with about 2 sentences, and have since been noticing it myself so I’m going to try my best to avoid it.

2. This is possibly going to be quite a long post, I’ll try to split it up, but feel free to skip through šŸ™‚

Keeping in mind how long ago my last post was I’m going to try and use this to just sum up everything that has happened since then. So, a quick summary, since my last post I have started and finished my placement at the university, passed second year of university, and turned the grand old age of 21.

My last post mentioned that I was about to start my placement at the university and as I have just said I have now finished that. My placement was in the English department of the university where I spent most of my time searching through journals, picking out relevant information and finally summarizing my findings, I will spare you the details though I subsequently now know quite a lot about US history between 1830 and 1870. Despite the English department of the university not exactly being close to my accommodation, the summer heat (which would have otherwise been enjoyable had I not had somewhere to be) and the sheer amount of reading to get through, on the whole I did actually find it all quite interesting and I think my occasional minor OCD for organizing did come in quite handy. Studying here next year will of course be a lot more helpful in terms of improving my spoken German and for socializing but I did enjoy what I was doing here for the short placement.

Outside of my placement, I have had breakfast with prosecco on a tour of the Oker river with the international students which was very nice and something I would recommend, I have also met a fair amount of American students over here on a summer exchange run by the university, which definitely had it’s benefits as my birthday is on the 4th of July and everyone was out celebrating. Overall I have had a great time here and look forward to coming back.

One of the main downsides of this placement has been it’s timing, due to it being within a normal English university accommodation tenancy (normally up until the end of July) I have been paying for my accommodation here as well as back in Chester (bad times) so I haven’t really had the money to really do everything I would have liked, next year however I will only be having to pay for my accommodation here so I will have more than enough money to enjoy myself a lot more and really experience things and will hopefully have a lot more to write about on here (good times).

If Germany could be summed up in one picture

So, second year of university is basically now pretty much wrapped up, met some great people, had a great time in Braunschweig and really have settled in, possibly more than I had realized, or maybe it’s just me not looking forward to the fact that I have to gather my life back into a bag, who knows.With luck I can make posting on here a more regular occurrence in future and hopefully will have a lot more to write about, have definitely enjoyed my time here and have no doubt that next year will be even better.

Josh x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

